*** OVERPAYMENTS RECEIVED BY MAIL WILL NOT BE REFUNDED ***
BIRTHS: Certified - $13.00 for first, $7.00 for each additional of same record; Genealogical - $5.00 each (must be on file a minimum of 75 years).
Birth records are on file from 1916 to present; limited records are available from 1861. A person must be at least 18 years of age to request a copy of his own record. Parents or legal guardians may request certificates for their children. Other persons may request and pay for copies to be mailed by our office to the person named on the record or to a parent. In addition to the applicable fee, mail-in requests must include full name on birth record, date of birth, parents' full names (including mother's maiden name), a signature and return address.
MARRIAGES: Certified - $13.00 for first, $7.00 for each additional of same record; Genealogical - $5.00 each (must be on file a minimum of 50 years).
Marriage records are on file from 1841 to present. In addition to the applicable fee, mail-in requests must include the bride and groom's full names (bride's maiden name), date of marriage and return address.
DEATHS: Certified - $19.00 for first, $11.00 for each additional of same record; Genealogical - $5.00 each (must be on file a minimum of 20 years).
Death records are on file from 1916 to present; limited records are available from 1877. In addition to the applicable fee, mail-in requests must include full name of deceased, date of death and return address.
SEARCH FEE: $5.00 (includes copies of records found up to $5.00).
PHOTO COPIES: $0.50 per page (includes copies of all records on file in the County Clerk's office, other than those listed above and documents recorded in real estate records). In office only.
ASSUMED NAME CERTIFICATES - $15.00 (Any unincorporated business being operated under a name other than that of the owner must register with the County Clerk. The fee for changes (address, withdrawal of name, etc.) is $5.00.)
NOTARY PUBLIC COMMISSIONS: New commissions and renewals are recorded in the County Clerk's office and may be obtained for the following fee: In person - $10.00; By mail - $10.00.
Office of Colleen Kidd, Piatt County Clerk
Courthouse, Room 110
101 W. Washington
Monticello, IL 61856
Hours: 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday
Both parties must appear at the County Clerk's office. Blood tests are not required; however, at least one ID, which includes date of birth (preferably driver's license) for each party, must be presented at the time license is applied for. Also, if either applicant has previously been married, he/she must state how that marriage ended, i.e. death or divorce, and provide the date on which it occurred. The license must be obtained at least one day prior to being used, and is void 60 days after the effective date. A license obtained in Piatt County is not valid in any other county.
According to laws of the State of Illinois, blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, may not marry. However, first cousins 50 years of age or older may marry in this State.
The fee for obtaining a marriage license is $55.00.
In order to marry within the State of Illinois without parental consent, a person must be at least 18 years of age and provide proof of such when applying for license. If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age, BOTH parents or guardians must sign a parental consent form in the County Clerk's office at the time the license is applied for. In the case of only one parent having custody, proof of such is required. If it is not possible for a parent or guardian to sign in this office, they may do so in the office of the County Clerk in the county in which they reside.
Non-residents may not obtain a marriage license in Illinois if said marriage would not be valid in applicants' State of residence.
The license must be returned to the County Clerk's office by the officiant of the ceremony within 10 days after the date of marriage.
A certified copy of a marriage license issued in Piatt County may be obtained from the County Clerk's office either in person or by mail. The fee for one copy is $13.00; additional copies of the same certificate are $7.00 each. Requests must include name of groom, maiden name of bride, and date of marriage. Mail requests along with applicable fee (check or money order) to:
Piatt County Clerk
PO Box 558
Monticello, IL 61856.
*** OVERPAYMENTS RECEIVED BY MAIL WILL NOT BE REFUNDED ***
Originals only are accepted for recordation. Daily cutoff time for recording is 4:00 p.m. Documents received after 4:00 p.m. will be recorded the following business day.
This fee list is provided for informational purposes only. Email the Piatt County Recorder for an accurate assessment of the required fees. Overpayments received by mail will NOT be refunded.
If the document conforms with standardization rules (55 ILCS 5/3-5018)* the minimum fee is $55.00 for up to 4 pages (includes $24.00 recording fee, $5.00 document storage fee, $16.00 Geographic Information System fee, $10.00 Rental Housing Support Program Fund**).
*The fee for documents not conforming is double the original, less $31.00
**Fee for all real estate-related documents
The minimum fee for recording utility easements and documents submitted by units of local government or school districts is $46.00 for the first four (4) pages.
Additional charges are as follows:
1. Pages in excess of four (4) $1.00 each
2. Documents without legal description $1.00 each
3. Additional document references $7.00 each
Recording fee for liens submitted by State or Federal Government is $11.00 for one to two pages; additional pages $1.00 each; additional names, d/b/a, etc. $1.00 each
The minimum fee for filing FINANCING STATEMENTS (UCCs) is $60.00. The minimum UCC SEARCH FEE is $10 for each debtor's name/address and includes photocopies of up to 10 pages. Additional pages are $1 per page. Filing fee for TERMINATION STATEMENTS is $60.00.
SURVEYS* (no more than two lots), 8 1/2 x 14 are $55.00. For larger documents, there is an additional $1 times the number of legal size sheets equivalent to the document. Thus if the original is equivalent to 3 legal pages, the additional charge would be $3.
PLATS* (subdivisions and condominiums), 30 x 36 maximum size, are $95.00. Additional pages (certificates, etc.) accompanying the plat are $1 each.
*For both surveys and plats, the original must be submitted along with three 11x17 copies (reductions if necessary). The original will be retained by the Recorder.
There is no charge to file or for certified copies.
Copies delivered in the office are $ .50 per page.
Copies to be mailed, $1.00 per page.
Faxed copies, $3.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page.
Copies from microfilm, $1.00 per page.
Certified copies, $13.00 for first four pages and $1.00 each additional